Wainwright monument, c. 1850
Section: 7 Lot: 14/16
A pyramid of less than Pharaoh size was occasionally used as a tomb in the early 19th century, but the form is almost unknown in the Cemetery, and the huge open books of marble that the black object seems to be studying are unique here. In 1850, two Wainwright brothers were brewers in Lawrenceville, and this tomb is likely theirs, but the books are now illegible. The Wainwright brewery was established in 1818 by Joseph Wainwright, an English immigrant, and continued by Jarvis and Zackariah Wainwright. At one time, Wainwrights Island lay in the Allegheny River alongside the brewery; it has since disappeared.